Color Fit For A King

by coco

In ancient times, purple was the color reserved for the very rich and powerful. Today it suggests luxury and mystery.  In color theory, purple is a non-spectral color, occurring between red and violet- There is no such thing as the “wavelength of purple light”; it only exists as a combination.

In any event, the use of purple in interiors can create a very noble feeling when rich, saturated hues are used. Check out the cover of this month’s Elle Decor. What do you think? I think this room is well done (minus the table) and looks like it would be an enjoyable place to sit- the light ceiling and floor keep it nice and non-claustrophobic. Dark colors can make a space feel smaller than it is, but here that’s a good thing- it makes this large room a little more inviting.

Elle Decor, November 2011

While I am usually a lover of neutrals (gray is my favorite color, if you could call it that…), I  am warming up to the use of bolder color, to the making of bolder statements. No doubt there is a direct correlation between this and my growing confidence as a designer and as a person. However, a lot of what’s out there still makes me cringe and I do not think neutrals, or pastels for that matter, mean weakness. They are peaceful, and I guess those are the kind of interiors I have always been drawn to.

If and when you do decide to use purple in an interior, however, do keep in mind yellow is purple’s complimentary color, so to keep things balanced, it’s good to have a hint of it (gold counts!)  somewhere in the picture, unless you are going for a completely mono-chromatic (can you say intense?!) or analogous harmony. Also, remember since purple is a mix of a warming color (red) and a cooling color (blue), it will have different effects in different contexts (depending on surrounding hues and the lighting). Here are some other examples that work for me– easy does it:

Via Pinterest.com

West Elm Winter Floral Duvet

Via Flickr

